Punk News

Year Of The Knife gain new singer for ‘Dust to Dust’ EP

The straight-edge metallic hardcore band return with first new material as a four-piece

With their 2020 debut album, ‘Internal Incarceration, ’ Delaware band Year Of The Knife sharpened a raw, punishingly heavy take on metallic hardcore.

Now, slimmed down to a four-piece, they’re back with a new set of songs and a new singer as bassist Madison Watkins steps up to the mike to take over from departing singer Tyler Mullen.

The first sound of the band’s new incarnation is the thundering new EP ‘Dust to Dust’. Produced and engineered by Taylor Young (Nails, God’s Hate, Twitching Tongues), it’s a three-song, seven-minute brutal blast that builds on their straight edge roots.

Watkins explains: “Being straight edge is something that has always connected and driven the band, and that is still heavily present. Building from that thematic foundation, my lyrics are through the lens of my own experiences and demons. We wanted to combine our sound with these new influences to make our most pissed-off songs yet.”

The personnel changes amp up the band’s family affair, with Madison lining up alongside husband Brandon and the twin brothers Aaron and Andrew Kisielewski.

Having appeared at festivals like Hellfest, Outbreak Fest, and Jera on Air last summer, Year Of The Knife will their unrelenting live show to Louisville on Saturday 11 February, followed by a four-date run across Michigan, Indiana and Ohio, and then they’re heading to Europe (ticket info for all dates here).

  1. Ctrl+C

  2. Victim

  3. Dust to Dust
Follow Year Of The Knife on Their Socials
Need more Punk In Your Life?