New Releases

Witch Fever: Everything’s better with a bucket of fake blood!

Witch Fever’s new single is out now and they’ve accompanied In Birth with a bloody, though tongue in cheek, video.

The track features semi-autobiographical lyrics on the consequences of being born into a charismatic Christian church where patriarchal structures and predatory behaviour were rife.

In Birth has been kicking around for a little while now, so it’s nice to finally exorcise it into the world.”, she said. “Whilst the theme of a lot of our songs is reclamation, empowerment and catharsis, it’s definitely far more vulnerable.

“It felt right to juxtapose this with big chuggy riffs and noisy, cymbal heavy drums. The power that Alisha, Alex and Annabelle create on this track accompanies the anger in my lyrics perfectly.”

She added: “We created and directed the video with Sam O’Leary, and it’s a tongue in cheek way of

presenting the narrative. We wanted something camp and fun but still powerful and angry. Plus, everything’s better with a bucket of fake blood!”

The song, plus previous digital singles Reincarnate and In the Resurrect, will feature on the Manchester doom punks’ debut EP. The six-track Reincarnate EP will be out digitally on 29 October, and then a special edition 12” vinyl release arrives on 3 December, both via Sony’s Music For Nations.

See Ya Down The Front Photography
Witch Fever Photo © See Ya Down The Front Photography

Amy said: “This is the first time we’ll be releasing something longer than a single, so it’s very exciting for us! The EP doesn’t really have a singular meaning behind it; it’s a mix of our favourite songs to date! Some of them we wrote and finished during the lockdown, and some are a few years old.

Witch Fever was formed four years ago through mutual friends. Their line-up has since coalesced around singer Amy Walpole, Alex Thompson on bass and backing vocals, guitarist Alisha Yarwood and Annabelle Joyce on drums.

Following Reincarnate‘s physical release, the band will play in-store at London’s Rough Trade East on 4 December and, ahead of that, have a UK festival appearance this weekend at Burn It Down in Devon.


Reincarnate tracklisting:

1. Reincarnate

2. In the Resurrect

3. Abject

4. In Birth

5. Initiation

6. Bully Boy

Witch Fever live dates

11 September 2021 – Burn It Down Festival, Devon

4 December 2021 – Rough Trade East

16 April 2022 – Futurama Festival, Liverpool

Idles & Bambara support tour (UK/EU)

17 January 2022 – London, O2 Academy Brixton

1 March 2022 – Paris, Elysee Montmartre

2 March 2022 – Lyon, Transbordeur

3 March 2022 – Milan, Fabrique

4 March 2022 – Turin, Cap10100*

5 March – Nimes, La Paloma*

6 March 2022 – Toulouse, Le Bikini

7 March 2022 – Bilbao, Santana

9 March 2022 – Barcelona, Razzmattazz

10 March 2022 – Madrid, Riviera

11 March 2022 – Lisbon, Coliseum

Follow Witch Fever

Need More Punk?