New Releases

Up For Nothing Breakout with ‘Escape Route’

New York quartet release their new album and the title track.

Big Apple rockers Up For Nothing have captured lightning in a bottle with LP Escape Route as they return from their six-year hiatus. The Brooklyn-based punk rock band consisting of Justin Conigliaro, Josh Gaon, Steven Calco and Tom Sobolow, with their fast-paced melodic tunes, is back!

This record has every element of what they have become known for throughout their lifespan, but it also sounds exactly like what we would expect (and hope) their natural musical progression to be.

With vocal melodies that will play on in your head for weeks, guitar riffs that at times sound like a deranged travelling circus trying desperately to recruit your first born child, and a rhythm section that lays the perfect foundation for their intentional/organized onslaught of catchiness; this record somehow simultaneously feels like the familiar home-cooked meal that you didn’t realize you were missing so much and the excitement of trying something new for the first time.

The 13 tracks on Escape Route never let up for a second. This is a fast-paced, energetic body of work with customary sporadic “Whoh oh oh’s” for backing vocals. The drumming is ferocious at all times. This is fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants rock played with vibrancy and express delivered straight to your ears in a neat little package covered in band stickers from 90’s era punk groups.

Escape Route is out now via It’s Alive Records.

Follow Up For Nothing on their socials

More of the latest in punk