New Releases

Summer Years Drop New Track From Upcoming EP

The San Diego pop punk band release their new single ‘What You’re Made Of.’

Summer Years have released What You’re Made Of, the third single off their upcoming EP, ‘You Can’t Live There Forever’. The single is the bands latest catchy pop-punk anthem and conjures up memories of summers full of fun, festivities and friends, at a time when heading to the next Warped tour was the only thing you cared about.

Summer Years’ core sound is comprised of powerful rhythms, melodic guitar parts, and meaningful lyrics. With influences rooted in the classic pop-punk of bands such as blink 182 and Jimmy Eat World, Summer Years explore a sound that bridges generations of punk rock.

Like so many other bands’ recent releases, Summer Years EP was recorded during the global pandemic, a period of time that the band found quite intimidating.

It was intimidating because there was no clear future set before us; no shows or tours to work towards, or any inkling of what the future of the music industry would look like,” says singer/guitarist Nick Lanari. “It was just us in there getting it done with a lot of uncertainty in our future.”

Lanari admits that despite the uncertainly, recording the EP was also cathartic.

“We felt fortunate that we were able to do what we loved during these times. To be able to be creative and expressive is a healing force. The word perseverance really comes to mind with this EP, and it’s really fitting for walking through the last year and a half.”

When asked to describe the band’s sound, Lanari explains, Summer Years is pop & punk rock-infused music, but it’s for anyone who likes to rock and enjoys lots of melodies. We definitely operate with the energy and big rhythms of a punk band, but I think we will always be accessible to anyone.

“Kids who are just getting into guitar music or who have never listened to pop-punk! I think our music is for everyone. Even soccer moms. Haha.”

Summer Years

You Can’t Live There Forever’, was produced by Adam Sisco (This Light, Blue Skies)Chris Szczech & Mike Liorti (The Picture You Paint, What You’re Made Of, Not Letting Go and Small World) and mixed by Chris Lord Alge (Green Day, All-American Rejects) and Steve Rizun (NOFX, The Flatliners). Released January 7th on Enci Records

Follow Summer Years On Their Socials

Get all the latest punk news right here…