New Releases

Sugarcult’s Celebrates Debut Album with 20th Anniversary Reissue

SoCal pop punk rockers Sugarcult to drop Start Static (20th Anniversary Edition) on October 8th.

The vinyl edition of Start Static (20th-Anniversary Edition) will feature a newly remastered version of the debut album by the Grammy-winning engineer Paul Blakemore. The band also included three special bonus tracks for fans to add to their collection.

The additional tracks are an early demo of Say I’m Sorry, Bouncing Off the Walls live, plus a spirited cover of Elvis Costello & The Attractions No Action. The album comes housed in a gatefold jacket, with sculpted emboss printing and updated liner notes from the band.

In the liner notes, guitarist Marko DeSantis recalls that Start Static “was our confrontation and/or handshake with the world; our chance to get people to pay attention, earn their respect, and then, hopefully, win their hearts.

The album title fits the narrative of the songs—which are mostly vignettes of young adult anxiety over the trials of messy romance and post-adolescent dissatisfaction and uncertainty. [Start Static] was our album title and our mission statement.”

When it comes to the new bonus tracks, DeSantis explains that they “are from the Start Static-era archives: Say I’m Sorry was one of the most popular songs in our early club days, and it was this exact demo recording that originally captured the attention of the record company that signed us … Without Say I’m Sorry, there would be no Start Static!

He adds, “Sugarcult’s patron saint of rock ’n’ roll was Elvis Costello, so we included our cover version of No Action. And Bouncing Off the Walls (Live) captures the song in its best light … onstage, in front of a raging, sweaty crowd. From the moment we wrote that song, we knew it was gonna be fun to play live. It’s been included on every setlist for every show we’ve played ever since.”

Hailing from Santa Barbara, CA, Sugarcult appeared in 1998. The band standing out as one of the most dynamic pop-punk bands of that era. The band were signed by Ultimatum Music, connecting them with producer Matt Wallace (Maroon 5, Faith No More, The Replacements) to work on their debut full-length.

Following Start Static, Sugarcult released two more acclaimed albums (2004’s Palm Trees and Power Lines and 2006’s Lights Out) and two DVDs before embarking on an extended hiatus in 2008. Since then, each band member has excelled in a variety of fields within the music industry.

Tim Pagnotta (vocals/guitar) is an award-winning, multi-platinum-selling songwriter and producer who has collaborated with Weezer, Blink 182, Neon Trees, Walk the Moon and Elle King.

Airin Older (bass/vocals) became a founding member of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros and joined British alt-rock group thenewno2, featuring Dhani Harrison.

DeSantis (guitar) is now a professor of music business, artist development and artist coaching at Los Angeles College of Music, Musicians Institute College of Music and Citrus College. He has also enjoyed several DJ residencies in the US and Japan and has been featured as a guest speaker and panellist at SXSW, UCLA, and Sonos LEAD.

Drummer Ben Davis, meanwhile, enjoys a successful career writing and producing music for film, TV and commercials.

Pre-order Start Static 20th Anniversary Edition HERE.


Follow Sugarcult for more…

Check out these stories for more punk news…