New Releases

Frank Turner shares new album details, reveals 2022 tour dates and drops a new a single

The British punk-folk troubadour is set to return with a new album and a ‘never-ending tour of everywhere’!

FTHC, the just-announced new LP from Frank Turner (album number nine, no less!), will be out in February, accompanied by another slew of shows. All of which is preceded by the new single FT single ‘Haven’t Been Doing So Well.’

The track is a driving, danceable tale of struggling with “being sick and tired of being sick and tired” that resolves into a brave call for help when you’re searching for a reason to go on.

It’s the second single from Frank Turner’s new album and follows the May release of ‘The Gathering‘, which featured Jason Isbell and Muse drummer Dom Howard and celebrated the return of live music.

Both tunes will be on FTHC, whose name takes its inspiration from early ’80s US hardcore band logos to stand for Frank Turner Hardcore.

“This record, I think it’s going to surprise some people. There’s just a kind of attitude and dirtiness, and noise to it, that after doing a record that explored more electronic music and then like a history folk record, I think it’s gonna really restate my purpose as an artist and blow some cobwebs away,” Turner said.

“There’s a lot of material on this record where I really decided to just take the gloves off in terms of just talking about personal issues and not to allow myself to censor myself and just to say the most direct and raw thing that I can.”

Ahead of FTHC’s release, he has a US headlining tour with Matt Nasir and support from Laura Jane Grace and Austin Meade that starts later this month and runs through October.

After that comes ‘The Never-Ending Tour of Everywhere 2022’, whose January and February UK dates are supported by Pet Needs, Truckstop Honeymoon and, in London only, Snuff.

This week Turner celebrated 17 years as a solo artist, during which time he’s played an average of over 150 shows a year. “That’s not terrible. Thanks for sticking with me,” he said in a message posted to Twitter.

Tonight (19 Sept), Turner, with his band The Sleeping Souls, play the fourth and final night of ‘Lost Evenings IV,’ a festival he curates at London’s Roundhouse. In addition to four different headline slots from Turner, it also features the likes of Nova Twins, Pet Needs, Jamie Lenman, Dream Nails and Skinny Lister.

Last night’s date (18 Sept) saw Frank Turner and The Sleeping Souls doing a full rendition of England Keep My Bones‘, plus B sides and more, an album that marked its 10th anniversary this year.

Frank Turner Tour Poster

FTHC tracklisting

1. Non Serviam

2. The Gathering

3. Haven’t Been Doing So Well

4. Untainted Love

5. Fatherless

6. My Bad

7. Miranda

8. A Wave Across A Bay

9. The Resurrectionists

10. Punches

11. Perfect Score

12. The Work

13. Little Life

14. Farewell To My City

15. The Zeitbeast*

16. The House Where I Was Raised*

17. Haven’t Been Doing So Well (Acoustic)*

18. Wave Across A Bay (Acoustic)*

19. Punches (Acoustic)*

20. The Work (Acoustic)*

*Deluxe version only

Need more Frank Turner punk-folk in your life?

Need More Great Punk Sh**?