Punk News

Finny McConnell Announces First Solo Record

Leader of the Celtic Punk Icons The Mahones’ will release The Dark Streets of Love on September 2 via True North Records.

After 30 glorious years of leading renowned Celtic punk rockers, The Mahones, founder and bandleader Finny McConnell decided it was high time to write and produce an album for himself. The result? The Dark Streets of Love.

A collection of his most intimate musings to date, The Dark Streets of Love is McConnell’s love letter to everyone important in his world. Stripped bare with personal lyrics that represent not only his truth but a truth we can all relate to, the 11-track LP includes covers of songs by Bruce Springsteen, the Tragically Hip, Lou Reed, Shane McGowan, and even an outtake from an earlier Mahones release — all of which hold deep meaning to the veteran artist. 

With The Mahones, McConnell unleashed more than 20 albums to the masses and shared the stage with the likes of the Dropkick Murphys, Shane MacGowan, Stiff Little Fingers, Billy Bragg, The Buzzcocks, Sinead O’Connor, The Damned, and more.

Born in Dublin, Ireland, and based in Kingston, Ontario, Finny McConnell’s first solo album is its own homecoming — to himself. 

Mixed and engineered by Gene Hughes, this live-off-the-floor release is a rare peek behind the curtain to McConnell’s expansive emotional atmosphere; intricately layered reflections on loving, losing, grieving, and loving again peel away, song-by-song, one of punk’s most notorious leaders and his distinct point of view. 

The Dark Streets of Love is available September 3rd, 2021 via True North Records. Pre-order HERE.

Follow Finny McConnell on socials for more…

The Dark Streets of Love – Tracklist

Atlantic City
Someone Save Me
Stars (Oscar Wilde)
A Pair of Brown Eyes
New York City
So Far Away
Pale Blue Eyes
We’re Miles Apart
Cocktail Blues
Fiddlers Green
Back Home

For more punk updates check these out…