Punk News

Celebrating 40 Years of Social Distortion’s ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’

Social Distortion's 'Mommy's Little Monster' reissue celebrates the band's huge punk rock legacy.

In the world of punk rock, few bands have made as much of an impact and maintained a dedicated following as Social Distortion. Formed in 1978 by frontman Mike Ness, the band has gone on to release numerous influential albums, with their debut, ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’, holding a special place in the hearts of fans. Now, 40 years later, Social Distortion is celebrating the anniversary of this iconic album with a special reissue. 

Social Distortion emerged from the vibrant punk scene of late 1970s Los Angeles. Influenced by bands like The Ramones and The Sex Pistols, they quickly gained a reputation for their raw and energetic live performances. The band’s DIY ethos and gritty sound resonated with fans who were hungry for something different.

Released in 1983, ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’ marked Social Distortion’s official entry into the world of recorded music. The album captured the intensity and rebellious spirit of their live shows, solidifying their place as one of the leading forces in the punk rock movement. Tracks like ‘The Creeps’ and the title track ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’ became instant classics, showcasing Mike Ness’ distinctive songwriting and gritty vocals.

‘Mommy’s Little Monster’ resonated with disaffected youth who felt marginalised by mainstream society. The album’s themes of alienation, rebellion, and personal struggle struck a chord with listeners, offering a cathartic release for those who felt misunderstood. It became an anthem for a generation searching for their own voice and identity.

The 40th-anniversary reissue of ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’ is a testament to the enduring legacy of Social Distortion and the impact of the album. It serves as a celebration of the band’s journey and the profound influence they have had on the punk rock genre.

The reissue features a remastered version of the original album, ensuring that fans can experience the raw energy of ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’ with enhanced audio quality. The updated sound breathes new life into the tracks, allowing both longtime fans and new listeners to appreciate the album in all its glory.

In addition to the remastered album, the reissue includes a selection of bonus material that offers a deeper insight into the making of ‘Mommy’s Little Monster’. This includes previously unreleased demos, rare live recordings, and liner notes from band members and music critics. These extras provide a fascinating glimpse into the creative process and the album’s impact on the punk rock landscape.

  1. Side A

    1. The Creeps
    2. Another State Of Mind
    3. It Wasn’t A Pretty Picture
    4. Telling Them

    Side B

    1. Hour Of Darkness
    2. Mommy’s Little Monster
    3. Anti-Fashion
    4. All The Answers
    5. Moral Threat
Follow Social Distortion on Their Socials
Need more Punk In Your Life?